i won't worry my life away

confronting thoughts and embarking on different adventures, one moment at a time

The Summary of my “In Brugge” Story

on December 3, 2011

Has any of you watched Colin Farrel’s movie “In Brugge”? I have. I did watch it because I wanted to get some insight before I went off to travel. Tbh, I didn’t really like the movie, and, I wasn’t amazed with what I saw in it. But, I’ve heard that Brugge is really amazing, so I went for it. πŸ™‚ The movie doesn’t do justice to what I’ve seen. I β™₯ Brugge. β™₯ β™₯ x

Brugge is probably one of my personal favorites among the places that I’ve been to. Spending around 4 days in it (roughly 2.5 since I’ve been in and out of the city) somehow made me feel attached to it. I kind of left Brugge with a heavy heart (I didn’t want to leave 😦 but I had to–the same way i felt when I left Madrid for Barca)–I needed to move on to my next journey.

Well, enough about that! We’re here to talk about Brugge. πŸ™‚

Have you ever wondered how it would feel like being in a different century? Like, being on a different era? Or being in the same place, only living in the past? I wondered about it. And then I was in Brugge. It’s like walking in the past, with all these old, beautiful houses/buildings, carefully preserved in each street that I’ve passed to. I felt like I was walking in a post card while I was there. πŸ™‚

[For those who loved Venice, I must say I liked Brugge more :). Comparing the two, I like Brugge a LOT more :)].

Bridges, yes, there were a lot of Bridges. Canals, swans (they were swans, weren’t they?), towers, churches, old houses, bikes, picturesque view and of course, a lot of BELGIAN favorites! You name it: Belgian CHOCOLATES, Belgian BEER, Belgian WAFFLES, and Frites. Yes, what we all know as “french fries” is a Belgian-original dish which is called FRITES. πŸ™‚

It’s just amazing walking around Brugge. Getting lost was the fun part. Fighting the cold was a different story. Oh the stories, I’ve got a lot. Some of them were plainly stupid, while others are just pretty funny. Yes, I’ve got a map. And for the most part, I’m pretty good with it. But I don’t know, my senses just die down whenever there’s someone who takes control of the map reading. Props to my good friend Ed who accompanied me over the weekend! hahaha

Here are some of the places and things that got me caught up in Brugge
the Holy Blood Chapel (Heilige Bloed Basiliek), where the Holy Blood of Christ is located.
the Church of Our Lady (Onze Lieve Vrouwekerk) where Michelangelo’s Madonna and Child is currently homed. It’s one of the few works of art by Michelangelo which resides outside Italy.
Belfort at the Grote Markt. It’s a tall tower in this city square that me and my friend climbed. Talk about 366 STEPS! Like, seriously. And, it was pretty scary coz the steps weren’t really big (by that I meant it could allow only 1 1/2 people to step both at the same time–so if you’re coming up and someone’s going down, you both have to be extra careful–like very careful!). I think I’ve read it right when it said “Crooked Belfry”. Oh, and every hour, the Church bells play. When we climbed up, we discovered who/where they were playing. OMG, would you believe that grandpa climbs the Belfort that high everyday to play the keyboard of the bells? WOW.
Choco Museum… It was more of the history and fun facts about the chocolates. I would’ve wanted to see the “actual” process of making the chocolates and a lot of free taste too! Oh well :/
Halve Maan Brewery – went on a brewery tour and it’s was really great! It was very very informative (yes, now I know how healthy a beer drink could be!) and the guide was really funny. Plus, we all got 1 free beer. YAY!
Kai’s “In Bruges” walking tour — one of the BEST walking tours I’ve had. (I actually have had only 2 walking tours, and so far, I liked both! Though, Kai’s take was of a different level. ;)) The tour, overall was AWESOME! He pointed out the places which were in the movie, a lot of interesting facts about those places, history and more! Talk about his charm too! I highly recommend πŸ˜‰
The basement of Crowne Plaze Hotel, a few tomb stones were there and a foundation of the old church
Different Frites Stand
Lots of Chocolates Stores
A bucket of Mussels (awww too bad I forgot to take a picture of it. Imagine me eating atleast a KILO of mussels in one seating!)
Beer drinking (with my roomie Akari). Tip: if you aren’t a beer drinker and you ask the bartender to suggest a good beer for you, Oh, he’ll definitely give you a good one! Like, the strong one! LOL.
Boat Tour. Me and my friend also went on a boat tour. It was great! The guide was also informative, plusssss all we had to do was ride on a boat! The view from the boat was also amazing πŸ™‚
what else…? oh, the cold foggy mornings/nights. It was all good, just a runny nose and that was it. HAH!

Overall, Brugge is just amazing. I love this place, and I hope that one day, I could go back and visit again. πŸ™‚

*Belgium has the COOLEST maps that I’ve seen. checkout use-it.be

One response to “The Summary of my “In Brugge” Story

  1. My favorite city ) It’s a really nice tourist town

Leave a Reply

