i won't worry my life away

confronting thoughts and embarking on different adventures, one moment at a time

How does envy affect you?

on December 16, 2011

Envy destroys us. True. But if we look at an angle where we could learn how to deal with it, then it makes us stronger.

By nature, I am a bit competitive. When I want something, I learn my way how to get it. For the most part, I do, and it feels good. It makes me content, and sometimes, even happy. But when I see someone getting something that I “think” I also want, I sort of get envious. Mind you, I am very truly happy for that person, it’s just that, I wish I also have it for myself.

Sometimes, THAT makes me a bit sad, or worse, depressed (talk about self pity). Thoughts circle around my head. Sometimes. Well, I think my “before” self speak of that. So no, let me correct it–BEFORE. Now, I think I’m learning (well, I am trying better now) to just let go of the jealousy and move past it. How do I do that?

*Before, I use it as a “motivation” to do a LOT better. Somehow, I think it worked. But, regardless if it worked or not, it isn’t really a good way of dealing with it. It’s like “nurturing” jealousy (whether it proved to have a positive effect or not). It is not HEALTHY.

So, here’s what I’ve been trying to do to DEAL with it:

1. Either I try not to look/listen/know anything about it. Well, it’s a very immature way, I know. “What you don’t know won’t hurt you.”

or

2. Look/Listen/Know some things or anything about it, and just don’t think about it too much. I mean, don’t let it get to your head. Instead, think of how blessed you are. If you over think, you’re doomed. If it’s really tough, then pray for guidance.

I try any of the two options, but I sooo wanna practice the second one even more. I wanna be stronger and learn how to deal with this emotion. Life’s too short to be jealous, and our heart’s too small to allow jealousy accompany our appreciation of other’s accomplishment.

Learn to be content and be happy for others without any inhibition. The fact is, you already have enough dwelling of your own, why dwell on other people’s too, right? Envy is too much baggage already. Just live and let live.

I know how lucky I am. I know how blessed I am. And with all that, I am very grateful for.

Leave a Reply

