i won't worry my life away

confronting thoughts and embarking on different adventures, one moment at a time

Almost just like any other weekend, only, it’s 2012: New Year’s Eve

on January 5, 2012

It’s a bummer when you type a 5-paragraph-almost-done blog. But I guess it’s all good. What I initially said was probably not that important. 🙂 Right now, I feel like I’m blogging just for the sake of writing something. Do you do this also? Oh well… I know, I don’t really have to, but since my New Year wasn’t as eventful as my previous ones, the least I could do is write something about it and hopefully, inspire me by the end of my own post… or atleast make me think some more 🙂

To recap my unsaved-thus-loved post, here’s a picture of myself last January 1, 2012 upon arrival at my house, just before cleaning up to sleep. Just a reminder of my new year.

What we did on New Year’s eve is just a bit typical of a typical weekend, with only the change of “year” as an exception. Me and my couple-friends went to church and had dinner at the restaurant across our building (Zainah). Here’s a very BIG meal that I wasn’t able to finish. This is a meat mandi (lamb). Thanks to Duanerdude for paying for this meal. YAY.

Duane order a chicken Mandi (not shown in the picture) and a Camel Kebab (shown below). It tasted a bit similar to lamb but it’s all good. Knowing that it’s healthier, I loved it!

Since all I wanted was to atleast see some fireworks, me and my couple-friends went to Meydan and watched the fireworks display at the tallest building in the world–Burj Khalifa.  Here’s the tallest building just before it turned 2012!

My fireworks photo (I forgot to bring a camera, and I wasn’t really familiar with the one I borrowed).

And here’s the TRUE good photo captured courtesy of https://www.facebook.com/DowntownDubai of the fireworks worth more than 1M aed (which is like 300k USD).

After watching the 8-minute more than a million worth of fireworks, we headed back home. None of us bothered to prepare a “Media Noche” so all we did was drink my Holiday Sangria (yes, I think I am in love with the drink preparation) once we got home, talk ’til 3am about different things and sleep all day. 🙂

This New Year wasn’t as eventful as my past New Year’s eve celebration… It was just normal. You could say it was like another weekend. But what’s the difference of this weekend compared to other weekends apart from slashing 2011 and making it 2012? I guess for most of us, it’s like a signal to start anew, or a push to better things.

Though we are allowed to change, start anew, or move forward in anytime of the year–whenever we want to, the New Year somehow serves as a cue to those who needs that “sign” of moving forward. Another year has come and it’s very inspiring and rewarding to know that we are all still here, given another chance for a New Year, a new life, or change. Yes, we don’t have to wait til a new year comes–but what about for those who needs an extra push?

The welcoming of this new year for me might sound a bit boring or sad, but trust me, it isn’t. With all the experiences and  thoughts of 2011, with most of the good things being carried over to 2012, I’ve never been more inspired than now. I am smiling just thinking about the latter of my 2011 and of bringing it over for 2012.  May not be as eventful as other nights, but who knows what’s gonna happen today or tomorrow? It has given me a more welcoming thought of the days to come. 🙂

Now, here’s a video of the fireworks display in Burj Khalifa, courtesy of my good friend Didi.

May all of us have a Prosperous and Happy New Year! It’s 2012 AD!!!

Leave a Reply

