i won't worry my life away

confronting thoughts and embarking on different adventures, one moment at a time

Luggage to Backpack, but… How? or, WHAT?!?

on January 11, 2012

Dreaming of going backpacking means letting go of heavy luggage and carrying unnecessary stuff. A girl could dream, right?

As some of you know (or, don’t know), I enjoy traveling… So much, that whenever I get the opportunity, I try to visit different places… atleast once a year. Once of the things that I am not a big fan of is packing. I was never a light traveler. I’ve never really attempted to pack things lightly. I am one of those who even tries to pack an outfit on a per-day basis.

Yes, you could just imagine!!! Last year, I even brought a luggage bag just cause it was my first time to go to a colder place and I don’t know what to bring, or if the clothes I’ll be bringing are enough to keep me warm! 😦 16 kilos is a bit much, I know 😦

Okay. So, moving on… I’ve been thinking of backpacking (even though it may not be really good for my back, I have scoliosis, you see!!–but I think a backpack would be better for longer trips than allowing myself to carry a heavy luggage and tempting myself to max it out!!!). Backpacking means I need a backpack, and there are just soooo many options!

Backpack “shopping” tips I got from reading forums etc:

-don’t go overboard. Don’t go over 45

-make sure it fits your back properly, by that, it means the Torso

Actually, those are the only thing that I find really important. Still, I’ve no clue what backpack to buy. I went to the store last week, and there were a few options that sort of fit my torso. I took down the model names and found out that they were mostly designed for men (where are the female backpack models?!?: UNFAIR!!). Okay fine, they fit me. But, do they really need to be very strappy/ropey? Some I think are more for hiking or mountaineering… Are they also good for backpacking? I find those straps/ropes unnecessary.

What do you do when there’s really not much of an option to go for?

So, here are the backpacks available in the store that fit me:

Alpine Lowe Airzone 45+10 (can’t recall if this was the centro)

Vango countour 50+10

Northface Terra 45

Go Sport Andina 50

I hope someone could help me… Puhlease!!

4 responses to “Luggage to Backpack, but… How? or, WHAT?!?

  1. Anita Mac says:

    My backpack is so old…I don’t know if they still make it! One feature that I love about it is the fact that there is a zipper in section that neatly secures in all the straps for when your backpack is on the plane. No one wants a mangled backpack because a strap got caught somewhere on the luggage transit of the airport! Also handy when your hotel/hostel space is small – keeps everything so tightly packed together! The second feature I like is the backpack condom – the nylon water shield – while it may not keep your bag dry in a deluge, at least it will protect it from basic rain for a period of time (ie: in transit to bus station etc….)!
    Hope that helps.

    • Katrina says:

      Thanks for the tips/info Anita! This is very helpful. I didn’t even think about these things, not until you mentioned it. 🙂 I’ll try to look for those additional features. THanks 😀

  2. The Paul Michaels says:

    Spent some time researching for you.
    Found a site you might enjoy looking through for helpful tips for your trip.
    Seems to be a good reference source.
    Hope this helps.
    Paul

    http://www.women-on-the-road.com/

Leave a Reply

